She’s Hooked – An Easy Way to Make a Fabric Crochet Hook Case

The fabric was the only other blue I had, but it turned out perfect.  Yay!

Why buy a crochet hook case when you can make a custom one yourself?

I used to carry all of my crochet hooks in a pencil case, but that began to get rather annoying. As they were all in a jumble, I always had to sort through them to find the hook size I needed. It was wasted time and effort, so I decided to make myself an organized case with some fabric remnants I had on hand.

It only took me an hour or two to make this case, but it has been one of the best things I’ve ever made for myself. Now I can easily select the hook I need without getting a headache.

Since I made my case with materials I had on hand, it was pretty much free. I also designed it using my hooks as guides for the sizing of the case as a whole and for each slot. My method will provide you with an easily customized way to make your own crochet hook case. At the bottom of the page, I have also included a list of things I wish I had done differently.

All photos are mine. All rights reserved.


 My Crochet Hook Case

Since I made this without the intention of making a tutorial about it, I only have photos of the finished piece.

 

Click images for larger view


 How to Make a Basic Fabric Crochet Hook Case

The steps which follow are meant to be guidelines. If you think you have a better idea, go for it! Feel free to tell me how it works out in the comments.

  • 1

Gather your fabric, ribbon, and sewing supplies. I used two upholstery fabric samples my mom had given me (one sized about 16″x16″ and the other 10″x16″) and about 2 feet of 1/2 inch grosgrain ribbon.

  • 2

Fold each piece of fabric in half in order to have clean upper edges. Sew the larger one closed. You may choose to leave the other edges raw and neatly trim them or make the pieces inside out and turn them for clean edges.

  • 3

Pick out the needles you will be storing and fit each one to a slot using pins to mark the spaces. *Tip: Lay them out in order of smallest to largest.* Sew each line through both fabrics to create the pockets. Be sure to stitch the bottom and outsides of the material. I also sewed a stop line in the slot for my yarn needle so that I do not lose it in the slot.

  • 4

Lastly, you may choose to leave a large pocket for your other crochet accessories. In case I get new needle sizes in the future, I can take up some of the large pocket space, and you may also want to keep that in mind.

  • 5

Hand sew your ribbon onto one side, attaching it in its middle. I chose to put mine on the side of the large pocket and am satisfied with that choice.


If I made another one, what would I do differently?

During the process of making and using my crochet hook case, I have determined a few changes I would make if I could have a “do-over.”

– Make each section inside out, so that there would be finished edges. (I planned to add edging, but it was too thick.)
– Make a flap to keep the needles from slipping out. I think this could be done by either making the body of the case taller and folding it over or by adding a flap.


Do you crochet?  How do you carry your hooks?

3 thoughts on “She’s Hooked – An Easy Way to Make a Fabric Crochet Hook Case

  1. Stefanie ~ Jewels For All says:

    Thank you for this tutorial! I already bought a case for my knitting needles, but I’ve been doing the pencil case thing for my hooks. I’d thought about making my own, but I wasn’t really sure how to go about doing it. This seems like it would be pretty easy!

    • Elizabeth - Lili and Mum's says:

      Glad to help! Yes, the pencil case is kind of annoying. It was really easy to make, and its been a big help.

We'd love to hear from you!